Skip links

Mizoram Rajya Sabha member to contest Assembly seat

Aizawl: The lone Rajya Sabha member from Mizoram K. Vanlalvena will contest the coming election to the 40-member state legislature as official candidate of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) from the prestigious Aizawl South–I assembly constituency.

A member of the MNF nomination committee said on Sunday that candidature of Vanlalvena was confirmed by the committee on Saturday.

He said that the nomination committee had earlier confirmed the official candidates for the ruling party in eight assembly constituencies.

Cabinet Minister R Lalzirliana, who retained his home turf Tawi seat in 2018 assembly polls is set to contest from Aizawl North – 1 constituency while Minister of State Robert Romawia Royte, who was elected in 2018 polls is also set to contest from Tripura border Hachhek assembly seat.

Chief Executive Member (CEM) of Lai Autonomous District Council V. Zirsanga will contest from Lawngtlai West, H C Lalmalsawma Zasai, former Deputy CEM of Mara Autonomous District Council from Siaha seat, while the MNF will be represented in West Tuipui seat by Prova Chakma.

Other MNF candidates already confirmed are journalist-turned politician J. Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng in the prestigious Serchhip seat, Aizawl Mayor Lalrinenga Sailo in Tawi constituency and Aizawl Municipal Corporation’s corporator B. Lalawmpuii in Aizawl East-II, which will be left by Minister Robert Romawia Royte.

Meanwhile opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) had announced the party’s candidate in 39 assembly seats and the Congress also had officially announced its candidates in 3 constituencies.

The BJP and the People’s Conference (PC) party are yet to announce the names of their official nominees for the coming state assembly polls.

In the current 8th Mizoram Assembly, the MNF has 28 legislators while the ZPM and the Congress have six and five MLAs respectively and the BJP has one. 

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.
Zoram Chronicle