Skip links

Parties draw battle lines for Mizoram polls

Aizawl: Even as the Election Commission of India is yet to announce the date for election to the 40-member Mizoram legislative assembly scheduled to be held in November or December, battlelines have already been drawn between the three large political parties.

The three major political parties have almost finalised their candidates for the coming polls except in one of two assembly constituencies.

Nomination committee of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) have finalised names of its candidate in 38 assembly seats while it is yet to select candidates for 2 constituencies, one being held by the party and the other by opposition party.

The party is most unlikely to renominate Assembly Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo in Chalfilh constituency from where he won the 2018 assembly polls due to the fallout of his statement while in the US when he expressed his desire that the MNF should join the BJP earning the ire of the party leadership.

Though the MNF is an alliance partner of the BJP-led NDA at the centre and NEDA in the northeast region, the saffron party remains a political pariah in the Christian-dominated state. The lone BJP legislator also sits in the opposition bench in the state assembly.

The MNF also is yet to finalise its candidate for the prestigious Aizawl South-II constituency being held at present by the opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM).

The ZPM has announced 39 candidates and is yet to finalise its nominee for Tuichawng seat in southern Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district, at present being held by the BJP. However, some changes have been made in the candidates on the pretext of health conditions of some of the nominees already announced.

Except for 2 assembly seats – Palak in Siaha district and Tuichawng in Lawngtlai district – the Congress has finalised names of its candidates for 38 constituencies.

Chief Minister Zoramthanga will again contest from Aizawl East – I seat from where he won the polls in 2018 while ZPM leader and chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma will also try his luck again from Serchhip seat where he won in 2018 and again swept the by-polls in 2021 following his disqualification.

State PCC chief and former finance minister Lalsawta is going to contest from Aizawl West – III.

Deputy Chief Minister Tawnluia has been selected to seek his fortune again from his home turf – Tuichang constituency. 

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.
Zoram Chronicle